Right now, the committed individuals who put animals’ safety before their own have no representation at the state level. No one is walking the halls of the New York State Capitol looking out for their interests.

That’s about to change.

The NYS Animal Protection Federation has established a Division of Animal Cruelty Law Enforcement to represent the needs of Animal Control Officers, Dog Control Officers and Humane Law Enforcement Officers across New York State.

The Fed is now working with state legislators to sponsor legislation that will assist Animal Cruelty Law Enforcement in the work they do.

The Federation is making this commitment. We’re asking Animal Control Officers, Dog Control Officers and Humane Law Enforcement Officers across the state to make a commitment to the Fed.

  • Join the Fed to help support our efforts. Annual individual membership in the Division is $75 per year.
  • Get involved with the Animal Cruelty Law Enforcement Advisory Board—we’re looking for one person per region to provide input into legislative action.
  • Become a Animal Cruelty County Contact to help organize your local colleagues.


Region 1:
New York City (Bronx County, Kings County–Brooklyn, New York County–Manhattan, Richmond County–Staten Island, Queens County
Region 2:
Nassau County, Suffolk County
Region 3:
Columbia County, Dutchess County, Putnam County, Westchester County
Region 4:
Greene County, Orange County, Rockland County, Sullivan County, Ulster County
Region 5:
Albany County, Fulton County, Hamilton County, Montgomery County, Rensselaer County, Saratoga County, Schenectady County, Schenectady County, Schoharie County, Warren County, Washington County
Region 6:
Herkimer County, Jefferson County, Lewis County, Madison County, Oneida County, Onondaga County, Oswego County
Region 7:
Clinton County, Essex County, Franklin County, Hamilton County, St. Lawrence County
Region 8:
Cayuga County, Chemung County, Livingston County, Monroe County, Ontario County, Schuyler County, Seneca County, Steuben County, Wayne County, Yates County
Region 9:
Allegany County, Cattaraugus County, Chautauqua County, Erie County, Genesee County, Niagara County, Orleans County, Wyoming County
Region 10:
Broome County, Chenango County, Cortland County, Delaware County, Otsego County, Tioga County, Tompkins County